Ace Trump Wins Antwerp Thriller

Judd Trump beat Ronnie O'Sullivan 4-3 in a sensational final at Players Tour Championship event nine in Antwerp, Belgium.

A high quality encounter between two of snooker's most dazzling talents at the Lotto Arena was watched by a crowd of nearly 1,500. They saw O'Sullivan open with a break of 63 to take the first frame, before Crucible finalist Trump fired in 68, 65 and 65 to go 3-1 up. Back-to-back centuries, 118 and 132, saw O'Sullivan back to 3-3 but Bristol's Trump took the deciding frame with runs of 44 and 41, aided by a fluke on match-ball.

It's World No 7 Trump's second PTC title this season and he is rewarded with 10,000 Euros and 2,000 ranking points. Trump, O'Sullivan and Neil Robertson have dominated the PTC series so far, winning two apiece of the nine events.

"It was a really special match because the atmosphere was like the World Championship final, " said 22-year-old Trump. "Ronnie always gets more support so to deliver a performance like that against him gives me a boost. He makes big breaks and puts you under it. Even at 3-1 up I was just hoping for a chance to win it.

"This season has been pretty good so far, I've been more than happy with the way I've played. I lost my first match in the two main ranking events but I've done well in the PTC events and I'm really looking forward to the UK Championship and the Masters now because those are the big ones."

As for the success of the tournament in Belgium, Trump added: "I definitely think we could have a full ranking event here. The fans have been great and the players would be more than happy to come back."

The PTC is a series of 12 short events, with the top 24 on the final Order of Merit going through to the Grand Final in March, providing they have played in at least three domestic events and three overseas. The next tournament is PTC10 in Sheffield from November 27-30.

Results (last 16 onwards)

Last 16
Ronnie O'Sullivan 4-2 Stephen Lee
Neil Robertson 4-1 Michael White
David Morris 0-4 Jack Lisowski
Graeme Dott 4-2 Alan McManus
Judd Trump 4-0 Tom Ford
Mike Dunn 0-4 John Higgins
Aditya Mehta 4-3 Matthew Stevens
Martin Gould 4-3 Andy Hicks

Ronnie O'Sullivan 4-1 Neil Robertson
Jack Lisowski 2-4 Graeme Dott
Judd Trump 4-2 John Higgins
Aditya Mehta 1-4 Martin Gould

Ronnie O'Sullivan 4-1 Graeme Dott
Judd Trump 4-1 Martin Gould

Ronnie O'Sullivan 3-4 Judd Trump