Allen Is Euro Star

Mark Allen won his second consecutive European Tour event by beating Judd Trump 4-1 in the final of the Kay Suzanne Memorial Cup at the South West Snooker Academy in Gloucester.



Northern Ireland's 27-year-old Allen, who won the Ruhr Open last month, became the first player to win back-to-back events in the same season since the Players Tour Championship series was introduced in 2010.



He took the opening frame with a 62 clearance, before Trump levelled with a break of 128. Allen took a scrappy third then made three scoring visits in the next for 3-1. And a run of 53 in frame five clinched the £20,000 top prize as well as 2,000 ranking points.



"I played very solid snooker over the last couple of days," said Allen. "I had one tight match in the last 32 against Gary Wilson, which I won 4-3, but apart from that I won most of my matches quite comfortably. It's nice to have won two titles already this season as not many other players have done that."



Allen is now looking forward to two major events later this month - the 888casino Champion of Champions in Coventry followed by the UK Championship in York. "My target now is to win a big title and I'm full of confidence," he said. "I'm just happy to be playing well because I was struggling earlier in the season."



In the semi-finals, Trump edged out Welshman Jamie Jones 4-3 while Allen saw off Scotland's Graeme Dott 4-2.



The tournament is named in memory of Kay Suzanne, sister of SWSA owner Paul Mount, and players wore pink shirts to raise awareness of breast cancer. Allen added: "Paul and his family have worked hard on this event and it was great to see the fans and players supporting it so well."



The European Tour comprises eight events, with the top 24 on the final Order of Merit to qualify for the Grand Finals next March, to be joined by eight more players from the Asian Tour Order of Merit. The next event is the Antwerp Open in Belgium from November 14 to 17.



Results (last 16 onwards)



Last 16

Anthony Hamilton 3-4 Judd Trump

Chris Wakelin 4-2 Michael Holt

Michael wasley 3-4 Jamie Jones

Ian Burns 4-1 David Morris

Sam Baird 4-2 Ali Carter

Barry Pinches 2-4 Graeme Dott

Mark Allen 4-1 Joel Walker

Kurt Maflin 1-4 Neil Robertson




Trump 4-2 Wakelin

Jones 4-2 Burns

Baird 1-4 Dott

Allen 4-2 Robertson




Trump 4-3 Jones

Dott 2-4 Allen




Trump 1-4 Allen