Brothers over Sigel for Maryland State Title

Josh Brothers and Mike Sigel

The Maryland State Men's 10 Ball Championships were held at Champion Billiards café on Saturday November 6, 2010.  A strong field came out to play including such notables as Michael Wilson, Bob Madara, Josh Brothers, Mike Sigel, Adam Kielar, Matt Krah, Manny Chau, Bruce Nagle and Kevin West to name a few.

Leading the top half of the brackets was Adam Kielar with wins over Brett Stottlemyer 7-5, Kaloyan Rusannov 7-5 and a forfeit from Josh Brothers.  Leading the bottom half of the bracket was Mike Sigel with wins over Dan Madded 7-1, Jose Burgos 7-1, Kevin West 7-4 and Manny Chau 7-6.

Playing for the hot seat was Adam Kielar vs Mike Sigel. Sigel pulled away late in this match to win easily 7-4 and send Adam Kielar to the one loss side. Making his move on the one lost side was Josh Brothers after showing up late and being forfeited by tournament director Jose Burgos, Brothers went on a tear beating Brett Stottlemyer 7-5, Matt Krah 7-4 and Adam Kielar 7-4 to get to the finals.

In the finals it was Josh Brothers vs Mike Sigel in one race to seven. Sigel took an early 3-0 lead but Brothers came back by winning the next 6 games to get to the hill at 6-3. Mike Sigel won the next 2 games to make it 6-5, but Brothers held off the Sigel run as he won the last rack to win the Maryland State 10 Ball Championship.  I would like to thank all the sponsors and all the players that came to play.  Josh would like to thank his sponsor Dan DeCola.