China Open Final Stages Set to Begin

Vivian Villareal

The group stages are complete at the 2010 China Open and quite a few of the usual suspects are missing from the final stages of the event.

On the men's side, names like Mika Immonen, Ralf Souquet, Darren Appleton, Daryl Peach, David Alcaide and  Rodney Morris are no where to be found in the final bracket. Even with those players not making it through the group stages, there is still a lot of top talent in the final 32 player stage including Efren Reyes, Francisco Bustamante, Corey Deuel, Shane Van Boening, Karl Boyes, Marcus Chamat, Marlon Manalo, Niels Feijen, Pin-Yi Ko, Lee Van Corteza and defending champion Thorsten Hohmann.

The ladies division is down to just sixteen players and notably absent from the final bracket are Jasmin Ouschan, Shin-Mei Liu, Ga-Young Kim, Monica Webb, Gerda Hofstatter and Sarah Rousey. The final sixteen does include such notables as Sha Sha Liu, Allison Fisher, Karen Corr, Kelly Fisher, Akimi Kajitani, Xiao-Ting Pan, Yu Ram Cha and defending champion Pei-Chen Tsai.

Follow all of the action with our online brackets and watch selected matches streamed live at