Frost and Ochoa to meet in hot seat match at T-Town One-Pocket Classic

Scott Frost

Sylver Ochoa will meet Scott Frost in the hot seat match on Sunday, February 7 at the T-Town One-Pocket Classic in Tulsa, OK.  The $12,000-added event drew 42 of the country's best one-pocket players to Magoo's in Tulsa.  

Ochoa's path to the hot seat match began with an opening round bye, which he followed with victories over Cliff Joyner 4-1, John Gabriel 4-0, Earl Strickland 4-2, and from among the winners' side final four, he shutout Jeremy Jones.  Frost gave up as many games in his first round victory over Andy Friedhofen (three) as he did in his next three matches, giving up only a single game each in victories over Aaron Bolling, Chris Weast, and finally, the runner-up in Friday night's ring game, Gabe Owen. He then sent James Walden west 4-2 to get into Sunday's hot seat match against Ochoa.

Over on the one-loss side, only Owen of the four who'd come west from the winners' side final eight, would advance into the west bracket's final four. Strickland fell to Rafael Martinez 4-1, Jeff Carter was dropped by the winner of Friday night's ring game, Chip Compton 4-2, and David Strawn was dropped into the four way tie for ninth by Joey Gray 4-1. Owen stayed alive with a shutout over Joe McNamara.  

In the first of two battles that decided the tie for seventh place, Rafael Martinez defeated Chip Compton in a match that went double hill. In the final match of Saturday night, Joey Gray moved on with a 4-1 victory over Magoo's house pro Gabe Owen.

Matches were scheduled to get underway at approximately noon on Sunday, with Martinez facing Walden and  Gray meeting Jones to determine opponents for the quarterfinal match. The hot seat match between Frost Ochoa was scheduled to commence between 1:30 and 2 p.m.

Sunday's matches, like those throughout the weekend, will be broadcast live on UStream, courtesy of and the announcing talents of Ray “Big Truck” Hansen.

Results (thus far)

7th Chip Compton $700
Gabe Owen

9th Earl Strickland $500
Jeff Carter
Joe McNamara
David Strawn