Frost Wins Carolinas One Pocket

Scott Frost

Scott Frost, came back from a 3-2 deficit late Thurday night to defeat David Gutierrez 5-3 and claim the Carolinas Open One Pocket Crown. Frost was undefeated through the event, and took the hot-set with a win over Gutierrez. After Gutierrez eliminated Brian Jones in a 3 hour marathon match, the extended final match between Frost and Gutierrez got underway. Gutierrez led early, but in the end it was Frost with the win.

Both players are still in Goldsboro on Friday with the $10,000 added 9-ball division getting underway with a field of 121 players. Such notables as Shannon Daulton, Tony Crosby, Jonathan Hennessee, Rachael Abbink, Ron Park, Ryan McCreesh, Bobby Pickle, BJ Ussery, Earl Strickland, Johnny Archer, Michael Coltran and Tony Watson joined the already strong field of one-pocket players for the 9-ball event.

Brackets are online for the 9-ball event and expect a batch of pictures from the camera of Diana Hoppe later on Friday Night.

Complete One Pocket Payouts:
1st Scott Frost $1700
2nd David Gutierrez $1200
3rd Brian Jones $950
4th Rodney Morris $700
5th/6th Dennis Hatch, Jeremy Jones $500
7th/8th Tony Chohan, Norris Brady $300
9th/12th Dave Bollman, Larry Nevel, Josh Degler, Danny Basavich$150