Impressive Victory For Jentsch

Dominic Jentsch (GER) Foto: EPBF/DK

Ortmann, Ederer, Drago and Grabe also on their way into the last 64 player's field

Friday, 23 March 2012: Dominic Jentsch (GER) has eliminated Evgen Novosad (UKR) from this year's 10-ball Dynamic European Championships. He defeated Novosad with 8:4.

Both players showed really good pool and played extremely strong in the beginning of the match. They both had only one problem: The break shot! Jentsch won the lag, broke, came up dry and Novosad ran out. Then the other way around, Novosad broke dry and Jentsch ran out. That was repeated until the 7th rack. There, Novosad missed a ball and Jentsch took the lead for the first time making the score 4:3. The next rack provided the first useable break shot, executed by Novosad. Two balls went in the pockets but he did not have a shot on the 1-ball. This time, Jentsch missed the 1-ball and Novosad started pocketing balls until he found himself snookered on the 5-ball.

Suddenly something funny happened: He seemed to have forgotten his jump cue and asked Jentsch whether he could borrow his. Jentsch agreed with a smile and Novosad pocketed the 5-ball and ran the rack. Both players smiled about that. The score was even again, 4:4. Then Jentsch broke and Novosad played a strange safety which Jentsch handed back. Novosad left a shot for Jentsch and the German ran out. The next rack, Novosad came up dry again and Jentsch ran out again, now leading 6:4. The next two racks went into Jentsch's account in a similar way and Jentsch proceeded to the round of the final 64 players. Novosad's dreams have been shattered for this year's 10-ball competition.

Other notable results include Oliver Ortmann (GER) winning over Noel Bruynooghe (BEL) with 8:3. “The Tornado” Tony Drago (MLT) defeated Portugal's Manuel Gama with 8:4. Manuel Ederer (GER) whitewashed Predrag Sovic (SRB) 8:0 while Denis Grabe (EST) terminated Sam Wetzel (LUX) 8:2.

In the women's division, Oliwia Czuprynska (POL) defeated Marika Poikkijoki (FIN) with 6:3. Ana Gradisnik (SLO) and Darya Sirotina (RUS) both won their matches with 6:0 and will join the other winners from today's last round in tomorrow's single elimination stage.

The event is hosted by the European Governing Body for Pool, the European Pocket Billiard Federation (EPBF) and organized by International Billiard Promotion (IBP). For further information and reference please go to the federation website , follow us on twitter @EPBF_News or contact our press office.