Italian Open Single Elim Play Underway

Mario He

Friday, April 15, 2011: The last Italian man standing has left the Eurotour's Italian Open. Fabio Petroni has lost to Daryl Peach (GBR) 6:9. Around 200 spectators saw the match that was at all times dominated by Peach. Towards the end, Petroni managed to get closer but some poorly executed safety shots gave Peach the chances that he needed to finish Petroni in the tournament.

Also “The Tornado” Tony Drago (MLT) is on his way home. He lost to Austria's Mario He 4:9.

Probably the three biggest surprises in this round were the victories of Gabor Solymosi (HUN) 9:8 over Carlo Dalmatin (CRO), Alexander Kazakis (GRE) beating Christian Reimering (GER)  9:4 and Petri Makkonen (FIN) defeating Darren Appleton (GBR) 9:5.

These are the results from the Final 32:

Harald Stolka (GER) v Ralf Souquet (GER) 5:9
Marcus Chamat (SWE) v Francisco Sanchez-Ruiz (ESP) 9:4
Francisco Diaz-Pizarro (ESP) v Manuel Gama (POR) 7:9
Alexander Kazakis (GRE) v Christian Reimering (GER) 9:4
Darren Appleton (GBR) v Petri Makkonen (FIN) 5:9
Roman Hybler (CZE) v Carlos Cabello (ESP) 9:5
Niels Feijen (NED) v David Alcaide (ESP) 9:3
Ivica Putnik (CRO) v Dimitri Jungo (SUI) 9:7
Daryl Peach (GBR) v Fabio Petroni (ITA) 9:6
Konstantin Stepanov (RUS) v Mattey Ullah (NOR) 9:5
Thomas Engert (GER) v Thomas Mehtala (SWE) 4:9
Mark Gray (GBR) v Jayson Shaw (SCO) 4:9
Oliver Ortmann (GER) v Imran Majid (GBR) 9:6
Gabor Solymosi (HUN) v Carlo Dalmatin (CRO) 9:8
Tony Drago (MLT) v Mario He (AUT) 5:9
Jakob Belka (GER) v Chris Melling (GBR) 3:9

Last 16 players
Ralf Souquet (GER) v Marcus Chamat (SWE)
Manuel Gama (POR) v Alexander Kazakis (GRE)
Petri Makkonen (FIN) v Roman Hybler (CZE)
Niels Feijen (NED) v Ivica Putnik (CRO)
Daryl Peach (GBR) v Konstantin Stepanov (RUS)
Thomas Mehtala (SWE) v Jayson Shaw (SCO)
Oliver Ortmann (GER) v Gabor Solymosi (HUN)
Mario He (AUT) v Chris Melling (GBR)

The matches will continue tomorrow at 09:30 AM local time. 16 players from 13 countries will battle for the title.

The event is hosted by the European Governing Body for Pool, the European Pocket Billiard Federation (EPBF) and organized by International Billiard Promotion (IBP). For further information and reference please go to the event website or contact our press office.