Josh Johnson and Rhonda Moses Take Top Honors at 4th Annual Winter Shootout

The 4th Annual Winter Shootout (handicapped men's and women's eight ball events) took place at Lassiters Billiards Bar & Grill in Clinton, Iowa January 18-20, 2008. The $1020 added men's division brought in a total of thirty-six players with top names such as Jesse Bowman, Josh Johnson, and Jon Kucharo for their chance at the total purse of $2280.

In the end, it would be Jeff Clark that defeated Josh Johnson to take his place atop the winners side bracket with a final score of 5-3. While on the one-loss side Jesse Bowman was plowing through one player after another after loosing his first match of the day, only to finish fourth due to a close loss to Shannon Rasmussen of 6-4. Shortly thereafter, Rasmussen was defeated by Josh Johnson 8-3 in the semi-final round, sending Johnson back up against Jeff Clark in the finals. Johnson came at Clark quite strong and defeated him in the true double elimination finals 8-2, 8-3.

On the women's side of the board, twelve players battled it out for their $200 added event (total purse $620). The story of the day was all about Rhonda Moses as she went undefeated through the field. Runner-up Kathy Christiansen defeated Dea Mills in the semi-final round to take the one-loss side of the bracket and secured her place in the finals, but Moses was not budging – she stood firm and Christiansen settled for second place.

Thanks to all of the players for participating in the tournament and to one of the local distributors, Kirchoff, for sponsoring the event. We look forward to working towards another event next year.