Larry Price wins Derby Banks Title

Larry Price
Larry Price wins Derby Banks Title

After fourteen rounds of play, the Derby City Classic Banks Division is complete. The field was down to just three players in round thirteen, with former champion Larry Price drawing the bye while Sylver Ochoa ended Shawn Putnam's tournament run.

The finals got underway between Price and Ochoa with Price scoring a 5-3 win in the first game. Ochoa drew even at 1 game each with a 5-1 win in game two. Price won the third game 5-2 to reclaim the lead. The fourth game saw the score tied at 3-3 each when Price won a safety battle and pocketed the final two balls.

The win was Price's second Derby City Banks title, as he won the same event in 2002.

Price earned $10,000 for the win, while Ochoa settled for $5000.

The second round of one pocket is still being played, but will be finished later Monday night.

Banks Rounds: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

One Pocket Rounds: 1 2

Galleries: 1 2

Photo courtesy of Diana Hoppe