Archive Page

Begay, Avila take top honors in open tourneys at 2016 Southwest Regionals

Brian Begay

Brian Begay of Shiprock, N.M. won the Mixed Gold Division and Joe Avila of Avondale, Ariz. finished first in the Mixed Silver Division at the 2016 Southwest Regional 8-Ball Tournament at We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference near Scottsdale, Ariz. on Friday.
The Gold Division had 54 players, with Fargo ratings spanning from 519 to 697 and the Silver Division also had 54 players, with Fargo ratings ranging from 367 to 510. The races were handicapped with the lower-rated player receiving game spots based on the difference between the player’s Fargo ratings.
Begay’s path to the finals against Michael Allen of Salt Lake City, Utah, included wins over Tres Kane III, 6-4; Pete Barnes, 6-2; James Main, 6-2; Tim Daniel, 6-4; Ricardo Ritchie, 6-3 and Allen, 6-1.
Allen had a long string of wins before buckling to Begay. He beat Bill Truitt, 5-2; Tenadore Lee, 5-2; Wayne Cagle, 5-4; Bryan Wilson, 5-1; and Navin Talreja, 5-4, before losing to Begay. In the loser’s bracket, Allen beat LeRoy Banks, 5-1, giving him the opportunity to play Begay again in the finals.
Allen jumped out of the gate determined not to let Begay get the best of him, and beat Begay to force a second set in the true double-elimination formant.
But Begay was able to ward Allen off for the second set, beating the Salt Lake City-basEd Allen by a score of 6-3 in the finals to win the division, earning $1,000 and a plaque.
[photo id=45235|align=left]In the Silver division, Joe Avila started his day with a forfeit and then went undefeated to the finals, with wins over Lee Schnieders, 5-0; Mike Sauer, 5-4; Bryson Hunter Sr., 5-4; Anthony Laudadio, 5-4; and Todd Rodgers, 5-2, to take the hot seat.
Adam Payan, who would meet Avila in the finals, beat Guy Martinez Sr., 5-4; John Hardy, 5-0; and Willie Horton, 5-2, before falling to Todd Rodgers. Then Payan moved through the loser’s side of the bracket, with wins over Vince Villalva, 5-1 and Anthony Laudadio, 5-1, before getting revenge against Rodgers, 5-1.
But Payan couldn’t stop Avila’s winning streak and lost in the finals by a score of 5-2. Avila collected $800 for the win.
The women’s divisions, scotch doubles divisions, and the team divisions are still underway.
The 2016 Southwest Regional tournament is sponsored by CueSports International, Diamond Billiard Products Inc., Cyclop, and Simonis.
The 2016 Southwest Regional Tournament is produced by CueSports International, the parent company of the BCAPL and USAPL. CSI also produces independent events, such as the US Open 10-Ball Championship, the US Open 8-Ball Championship and much more. For more information, visit or call 702-719-POOL.
Gold Division
1. Brian Begay, Shiprock, N.M.                       $1,000
2. Michael Allen, Salt Lake City, Utah           $700
3. Leroy Banks, Mesa, AZ                               $450
4. Carlos Avalos, La Mesa, Calif.                     $300
5. Navin Talreja, Chandler, AZ                       $200
6. Ricardo Ritchie, Avondale, AZ                    $200
7. Bryan Wilson, Prescott Valley, AZ             $125
8. Drew McCoy, Austin, TX                             $125
9. Oscar Avila, Sr., Phoenix, AZ                      $100
10. Fernando Prats, Tempe, AZ                      $100
11. Tim Daniel, Mesa, AZ                               $100
12. Luke Wilkom, Mesa, AZ                            $100
13. Jeremy Gibbs, Phoenix, AZ                       $75
14. Larry Randle, Prescott Valley, AZ            $75
15. Bill Vander Weyst, Gilbert, AZ                 $75
16. Pete Lhotka, Dewey, AZ                           $75
Silver Division
1. Joe Avila, Avondale, AZ                             $800
2. Adam Payan, Glendale, AZ                         $575
3. Todd Rodgers, San Tan Valley, AZ             $375
4. Anthony Laudadio, Austin, TX                    $250
5. Vince Villalva, Austin, TX                           $150
6. Chuck Bower Jr., Gilbert, AZ                      $150
7. Michael Chapa, Beeville, TX                       $100
8. Brian Almond, San Gabriel, CA                   $100
9. Bryson Hunter Sr., Peach Springs, AZ        $85
10. Arnel Ferry, Glendale, CA                        $85
11. Jesse Perez, Gilbert, AZ                            $85
12. James Diaz, Phoeniz, AZ                           $85
13. Garnet Snow, Maricopa, AZ                     $75
14. Jose Torres, W. Hollywood, CA                $75
15. Spencer Brinkley, Mesa, AZ                     $75
16. Lynda Niichel, Queen Creek, AZ               $75

Briseno Doubles Dips Huth For First Diamond Tour Win

Gus Briseno (Photo courtesy of Rick Schmitz)

The Diamond Pool Tour’s second event of the season crowned a new champion, Gus Briseno, on May 14th – 15th. The event was 9-ball on the 7’ tables at Stingers. Briseno successfully came back from the one loss side to double dip Bret Huth in the finals. 
The “A” division drew 26 players, and at first glance, the brackets looked to be set up for a Bobby Emmons/Mitch Ellerman hot-seat battle. The other 24 players had something to say about that though, and neither player made it to the hot-seat match. Ellerman fell to Bret Huth in a hill-hill second round match, while Emmons would only make it to the final four before falling to Briseno hill-hill. The “A” bracket hot-seat match came down to Huth vs Briseno, with Huth scoring the hill-hill win. On the one loss side, Briseno bounced back with a 7-4 win over Emmons to earn his place on the final bracket. 
The “B” division drew 39 players, including tour newcomer Kurt Siebels. Siebels cut a path through the “B” bracket, with notable wins over Joe Chyzy, Brian Long and Michael Dale on his way to the hot-seat match, where he dispatched another tour newcomer, Tenadore Lee, 7-4. Tenadore would spend a short time on the left side of the board, as he eliminated Tucson’s Tonee Allin 7-4 to earn his place on the final board. Special note should be made of the performance from two former Junior players in this event. Both Michael Dale and Nick Kline are now too old to take advantage of the tour’s policy of allowing juniors to play for free, but that didn’t stop either of them from turning in great performances. Dale finished in 4th on the “B” bracket (7th overall) and Kline finished in 7th on the “B” bracket, 13th overall. 
When the two brackets came together, Kurt Siebels came within one game of securing the hot-seat as a “B” player. Siebels fought to hill-hill before Huth was able to win the match 7-6. On the one loss side, Briseno had a slightly easier match as he defeated Lee 7-4. After seeing how close the Siebels/Huth match was, Briseno took no chances and beat Siebels 7-2 to earn his place in the finals against Huth. The first set of the finals saw Briseno score a 7-4 victory, which seemed to take the wind out of Huth’s sails, as Briseno then went on to score a 7-1 victory for his first Diamond Pool Tour victory.
As always, tour organizers gave their thanks to Dale and his staff for taking care of a room of pool players, Rick Schmitz for the best photos that any tour gets to enjoy, and “Fast” Lenny Marshall for tirelessly streaming another great two day event. 
The Diamond Pool Tour will travel to Tucson for stop 3 on June 18th, where the players will be playing 10-ball on the 9’ tables at Pockets Billiards.

The Diamond Pool Tour is proudly sponsored by:
Diamond Billiard Products –
Casino Del Sol Resort –
Neil’s Garage Cabinets –
Greenmail Internet Marketing –
QB Custom Cues –
Volturi Custom Cases –
Cue Sport International –
Aramith Billiard Balls –

Simonis Cloth –
Kamui Tips & Chalk –
Hanshaw Custom Cues –
G-Cue Billiards –
Billiards Press –
Cheqio –