Van Boening wins Texas Open

Shane Van Boening

A full field of players descended on G Cue Billiards in Round Rock, Tx over the long Labor Day weekend to make their bid to win the 35th Annual Texas Open.

The field was jam packed with top 9-ball talent including Shane Van Boening, Jeremy Jones, returning champion Sylver Ochoa, Gabe Owen, Justin Bergman, Charlie Bryant, Rafael Martinez, Ismael Paez, Glenn Atwell, Shawn Putnam and Cliff Joyner.

As is almost always the case at an event like this, at least one top seed is usually sent packing to the one loss side early. At this event, that player was Shawn Putnam. Putnam lost a 9-6 decision to Rick Stanley in the first round.

As the matches finished up and players were sent to the left side of the board, the winners side came down to Ismael Paez vs Gabe Owen and Shane Van Boening vs Charlie Bryant. Both of these matches were close, with Owen and Van Boening advancing to play for the hot-seat.

On the one loss side, Putnam was showing his true form with a run of eleven straight wins. Putnam eliminated such notables as Ismael Paez, Glenn Atwell, Jeremy Jones and Cliff Joyner during that run.

Van Boening would go on to take the hot-seat with a 9-6 win over Gabe Owen, which sent Owen to the left side to see if he could stop the Putnam express. The match was another hard fought one, but Owen finally derailed Putnam's run 9-7. Putnam finished up in 3rd place.

The finals would be two races to nine, but only one would be needed as Van Boening repeated his hot-seat win and eliminated Owen 9-6 to end the event.

Van Boening pocketed $3320 for first, while Owen took home $1850 for second.

Online Brackets