World Cup of Pool – Teams named for London showdown

THE WORLD CUP OF POOL will be making its long-awaited debut in London as pocket billiards’ premier international team event goes to the York Hall from 17-22 September for its thrilling eighth edition.
There are a total of 32 teams competing with 31 nations represented – host nation England has two sides in the event. The defending champions are Finland as Mika Immonen and Petri Makkonen and they will be looking to become the first team ever to retain the title.
Once again the total prize fund is US$250,000 with $60,000 going to the eventual champions. Tickets for the six day extravaganza are available from (search ‘World Cup of Pool’).
Played over six days, there are two sessions a day – afternoon and evening -  and the format is straight knock-out single elimination.
The Teams
Europe (17)
Austria, Belgium, Croatia, England A, England B, Finland, Germany, Greece, Holland, Hungary, Italy, Poland, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Qualifier 1, Qualifier 2
Rest of World (4)
Australia, Canada, Kuwait, USA
Asia (11)
China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand
All players will be named over the coming two weeks.
The 2013 World Cup of Pool has its cloth supplied by Iwan Simonis and the Official Balls are Super Aramith. Official Cue is Predator.