Diaz is EPBF Player of the Year 2015

Francisco Diaz-Pizarro

EPBF Player of the Year 2015, Francisco Diaz-Pizarro


The election for the 2015 EPBF Player of the Year is over and Francisco Diaz-Pizarro (ESP) is the winner.


The nominees this year were Jouni Tahti (FIN), Kamila Khodjaeva (BEL), Niels Feijen (NED), Jasmin Ouschan (AUT) and Francisco Diaz-Pizarro (ESP). The election was held in three different categories: public votes, federation votes and officials votes.


In public votes, everyone could vote for his/her favorite on the website and every vote was counted. Diaz won that category by a mile with 539 votes for him. The second player had 199 votes.


The category „federations“ consisted of each federation getting one vote for their favorite. Here, Niels Feijen won and Diaz only got this place.


In the category „Officials“, the EPBF handed voting cards to Board members, Sponsors, Staff team members, etc. That category was taken by Diaz again with one point over Jasmin Ouschan. IN the end, the points added up to Diaz winning the vote and receiving the trophy from the hands of the President of the EPBF, Gre Leenders.


„This award really makes me very proud“, said Diaz during the player’s party where the trophy was awarded. „I want to dedicate this trophy to my son Frankie William Diaz Rodriguez.“ Diaz’ main achievements in 2015 were the title of the European 9-ball Champion, the silver medal in 10-ball at the EC and the bronze medal in straight pool. This outstanding performance together with his sportsmanship and overall appearance definitely made the difference and got him this award.