Marco Tschudi Claims Lone Star Tour Bar Box Opener

Rick Castillo and Marco Tschudi

The Lone Star Bar Box 8-Ball Season Opener January 22nd-23rd   yielded a whopping 96 entries with 59 open players, 14 ladies, 12 juniors, and 11 One Pocket players. Jason Brown, David Gutierrez, Brian Rosenbaum, T.J. Davis, Marco Tschudi, and other notables converged on Bogies Billiards whose owner Bobby Rone added $1,000 to the main event. LSBT upped the ladies' purse $350 while the One Pocket and Junior events paid back 100%.

Eugene Lee aka “Lone Wolf” hosted “Lone Star Live” along with special guest commentators and streamed the two-day main event from start to finish.  Play wrapped up unusually early Saturday night and produced 16 Open finalists for Sunday's live stream action.  In the final 8 of the Open winners' side it was Rick Castillo over T.J. Davis 6-4, Marco Tschudi passed Brian Rosenbaum 6-1, Brian Hickman bested Danny Roland 6-5, and Lanny Herrin defeated Barry Strickland 6-2. On the one-loss side, Gutierrez won 3 consecutive matches after Herrin sent him west in the second round. Guttierez was eliminated by Kevin Frauenberger who in turn fell to Roland. Dale Briones secured 4 consecutive wins after his first round loss to Bobby Perez. Dalton Riley defeated Briones 5-3 but was eliminated by Strickland 5-3. On the east side, Castillo defeated Tschudi 6-2 and Hickman defeated Herrin 6-5. This pitted a first time ever hot seat match between these two young guns. Castillo ran away with the set and the hot seat 6-2 over Hickman. Out west, Strickland was ousted by Tschudi 5-3, and Thomas defeated Chris Young 5-3 who was on a role after a first round upset by Dalton Riley. Thomas plowed through 7 opponents that included Davis, Rosenbaum, and Herrin but fell short of Tschudi 5-1. Hickman shared the same 5-1 fate and the Swiss player moved on to play the undefeated Castillo in the finals. Tschudi exacted his revenge on the San Antonio master player who sent him west earlier 6-2.  Castillo was defeated the first set 6-5 and the match went into overtime. In the second set, Castillo proved no match for the focused Tschudi and was laid to rest 5-1. Congratulations to Marco Tschudi, Rick Castillo, and Brian Hickman for their extraordinary play and their debut finishes on the Lone Star Tour.

In the One Pocket event, David Gutierrez defeated Danny Lee for the hot seat while Jason Brown fought through the one-loss side after he suffered a blow from Gutierrez in an earlier round. Brown defeated John Newsome, Lanny Herrin, and Lee for a rematch with Gutierrez. Brown came on strong, start to finish, and scored a two-set win.

Juniors also completed their 8-ball event on Saturday with Joey Torres, Robyn Petrosino, J.C. Torres, and Carlos Martinez who finished first thru fourth respectively.

The ladies' 8-ball event geared up on Sunday. Ming Ng annihilated the 14 player women's field with wins over 10 year-old Tiffany Abernathy, Terry Petrosino, and Courtney Peters. Peters bested Garland in the semi final 4-3 but perished to Ng in the final match. Thank you to all of the ladies who participated in this event.

The Tour would like to acknowledge Poison Cues as its 2011 Official Cue and Delta-13 as its Official Rack Find our Official Apparel at and many thanks to, our Official Web Designer and I.T. Support. Congratulations to Judy Alvarez and Darci Whatley who won Poison VX Cues at this event. Enjoy!

The next tour stop is Feb. 12th-13th at Crazy 8's Family Pool Hall in Port Arthur, Texas. For complete information on this pool room visit the “venues” section of the website.

The Lone Star Tour -
Challenge Yourself * Test your skill * Improve your game

1ST Marco Tschudi $700
2nd Rick Castillo $450
3rd Brian Hickman $250
4th Brent Thomas $200
5th-6th Barry Strickland, Lanny Herrin $165
7th-8th Brian Rosenbaum, Danny Roland $130
9th-12th Andy Jethwa, T.J. Davis, Dalton Riley, Kevin Frauenberger $80
13th-16th David Gutierrez, Dale Briones, Chris Young, Jason Brown $65

1ST $840
2ND $640
3RD $400
4TH $200
5TH-6TH $110
7TH-8TH $70

1ST Ming Ng $225
2nd Courtney Peters $170
3rd Teresa Garland $110
4th Belinda Lee $55

1ST Joey Torres $75
2nd Robyn Petrosino $50
3rd J.C. Torres $35
4th Carlos Martinez $20

1ST Jason Brown $365
2nd David Gutierrez $210
3rd Danny Lee $140