Rogers wins Hunter Tour Finale

Leslie Anne Rogers

For four straight year Leslie Anne Rogers has dominated the Hunter Classic's Women's Tour and this weekend at the season finale, things were no different.

With a field of 48 players, there were quite a few opening round byes for players to take advantage of. Rogers was not one of those players as she drew Heather Petre in the first round. Rogers won that match 7-4 and would not allow an opponent to get that many games on her for the rest of the tournament. Rogers literally coasted to the match for the hot-seat, where she defeated Tara McCracken 7-3.

After McCracken eliminated Heather Pulford on the one-loss side 7-3, she would earn another shot at Rogers in the finals. The rematch between McCracken and Rogers was even more lopsided than their first match with Rogers winning 7-1 this time.

Rogers earned $750 for first, as well as the WPBA qualifier. McCracken settled for $550 in prize money. Pulford and Melinda Bailey filled out the top four spots. Rogers earned her fourth consecutive "Tour Champion" award and Michelle Cortez won the award for most improved player.

The Hunter Classic's Women's Tour will open their 2005 season at Fast Eddies Billiards in Austin, Tx on February 12th-13th. It will be their 12th year and they remain the longest running women's regional tour.

Complete Results:
1st Leslie Anne Rogers $750
2nd Tara McCracken $550
3rd Heather Pulford $400
4th Melinda Bailey $240
5th Michelle Cortez, Anne Mayes $150
7th Jennifer Kraber, Snowy Belt $100