World 8-Ball Championship Day Three

Oliver Ortmann fell short against Juvan Bustamante

The field at the World 8-Ball Pool Championships in Fuijairah has now been reduced to thirty-two players. On this elimination day perhaps the most surprising exit from the tournament is that of Oliver Ortmann. Ortmann lost yesterday to Farhad Shaverdi of Iran (8-7) and was eliminated today by Joven Bustamnte of the Phillipines (8-3).

The players who successfully negotiated this first stage of the event include most of the familiar names. Those include Thorsten Hohmann (GER), Hui-Kai Hsia (TPE), Nick Van Den Berg (NED), Ronnie Alcano (PHI), Dennis Orcollo (PHI), Francisco Bustamante (PHI), Marcus Chamat (SWE), and Efren Reyes (PHI). A complete list follows this report.

But first, a day off and a little celebrating. Tomorrow will be void of competition as the players will take some time off and will all be treated to a desert safari, including camel rides and a desert barbecue. This will be followed by a taste of the Dubai nightlife before returning to Fujairah to resume play on Tuesday.

Our hosts here in Fujairah have gone out of the way to make the players comfortable. Each evening a meal is catered to the tournament site by the restaurant of the five-star Meridian Al Aqah Beach Resort that includes five main courses accompanied by side dishes, salads and a huge selection of desserts. The playing conditions in the brand-new Al Bustan Centre are excellent, well-lit with lots of room between the tables and each individual match is presided over by local referees who answer ultimately to the WPA Sports Director, Thomas Overbeck, who is on-site overseeing the action.

Following are the results of play on Sunday and the pairings for play on Tuesday.

Results From Day Three

Darren Appleton (GBR) def Olaf Köster (GER) 8-3
Marcus Chamat (SWE) def Saleem Al Juneebi (UAE) 8-3
Ralf Souquet (GER) def Jobert Panga (PHI) 8-2
Hisashi Kusano (JPN) def Mohammed Asim (IND) 8-5
Fabio Petroni (ITA) def Joybe Vincente (PHI) 8-3
Efren Reyes (PHI) def Bashar Hussein (QAT) 8-5
Muhammed Benali (QAT) def Zbyniek Vaic (RSA) 8-2

Rizandro Arrieta (VEN) def Mubarak Al Juneebi (UAE) 8-6
Jason Klatt (CAN) def Kareem Al Gendi (EGY) 8-2
Naif Al Jeweni (KSA) def Thomas Damm (GER) 8-4
Thomas Engert (GER) def Günter Geisen (GER) 8-1
Mario Tolentino (PHI) def Nasser Al Mujebel (KUW) 8-3
Joven Bustamante (PHI) def Oliver Ortmann (GER) 8-3
Thorsten Hohmann (GER) def Henrik Asperup (DEN) 8-3

Kevin Becker (GER) def Alex Evreniadis (AUS) 8-4
Lee Vann Corteza (PHI) def Issa Al Boloshi (UAE) 8-1
Satoshi Kawabata (JPN) def Hani Al Howri (UAE) 8-1
Ben Nunan (AUS) def Joven Alba (PHI) 8-4
James Ortega (PHI) def Karl Boyes (GBR) 8-6

Ralf Souquet (GER) def Saleem Al Juneebi (UAE) 8-1
Muhammed Benali (QAT) def Bashar Hussein (QAT) 8-2
Joybe Vincente (PHI) def Rizandro Arrieta (VEN) 8-2
Hisashi Kusano (JPN) def Olaf Köster (GER) 8-4
Alexander Dremsizis (GER) def Aki Heiskanen (FIN) 8-6


Goran Mladenovic vs Jason Klatt
Farhad Shaverdi vs Joven Bustamante
Serge Das vs Hisashi Kusano
Francisco Bustamante vs Thomas Engert
Marcus Chamat vs Satoshi Kawabata
Efren Reyes vs James Ortega
Darren Appleton vs Ralf Souquet
Dennis Orcollo vs Ben Nunan
Fabio Petroni vs Naif Al Jeweni
Ronnie Alcano vs Thorsten Hohmann
Hui-Kai Hsia vs Kevin Becker
Elvis Calasang vs Joybe Vincente
Niels Feijen vs Mario Tolentino
Chia-Ching Wu vs Alexander Dremsizis
Erik Hjorliefson vs Mohammed Benali
Nick Van Den Berg vs Lee Van Corteza