WPC Draw Announced

MATCHROOM Sport can announce the groups and draw for the forthcoming Philippines World Pool Championship which takes place at the Areneta Coliseum in Manila from 3 – 11 November.

The 128 player field is divided into 16 groups of eight players who will be playing in double elimination brackets to halve the field to 64 for the straight knockout play which commences on Wednesday 7th November.

All ten matches in each group will take place on two tables on the same day and the running order is as follows:

Saturday 3rd – Groups 1, 3, 4 & 6
Sunday 4th – Groups 7, 8, 9 & 12
Monday 5th – Groups 2, 5, 10 & 14
Tuesday 6th – Groups 11, 13, 15 & 16

All group matches are a race-to-nine with winner breaks.

Commented a spokesman for Matchroom Sport, “There are some very interesting matches and with the seeded draw, plenty of the lesser known players will have golden opportunities to upset the apple cart.

“That said, with the double elimination format, there will be no room for lapses in concentration and all players, whatever their standing, will be under pressure from the opening lag to the final 9 ball.”

For general event information go to: www.worldpoolchampionship.com

Group 1 Nation
Ronnie Alcano PHI
Ricky Yang INO
Xu Meng CHN
Alex Lely NED
Harald Stolka GER
Charlie Williams USA
Brady Gollan CAN
Saeed Ahmed Al-Mutawa UAE

Group 2 Nation
Ralf Souquet GER
Ronnie Wiseman CAN
Mike Davis USA
Bernard Tey Choon Kiat SIN
Raj Hundal ENG
James Delahunty AUS
Tepwin Arunnath THA
Manila Qualifier 6 TBA

Group 3 Nation
Wu Chia-ching TPE
Luong Chi-dung VIE
John Schmidt USA
Radoslaw Babica POL
Vilmos Foldes HUN
Craig Osborne ENG
Kusano Hisashi JPN
Carlos Castro NIC

Group 4 Nation
Yang Ching-shun TPE
Jonni Fulcher ENG
Ibrahim Bin Amir MAS
Bruno Muratore ITA
Shawn Putnam USA
Joven Bustamante PHI
Enrique Rojas CHI
Manila Qualifier 1 TBA

Group 5 Nation
Thorsten Hohmann GER
Fu Che-wei TPE
Jeff De Luna PHI
Edwin Montal CAN
Serge Das BEL
Sandor Tot SCG
Vittorio De Falco ITA
Manila Qualifier 3 TBA

Group 6 Nation
Efren Reyes PHI
Tony Drago MLT
Tony Robles USA
Liu Chun-chuan TPE
Alain Martel CAN
Thomasz Kaplan POL
Ceri Worts NZL
Manila Qualifier 2 TBA

Group 7 Nation
Chang Jung-ling TPE
Manila Qualifier 9 TBA
Nick van den Berg NED
Chan Keng Kwang SIN
Ramil Gallego PHI
John Morra CAN
Kasuo Furuta JPN
Manila Qualifier 5 TBA

Group 8 Nation
Alex Pagulayan PHI
David Alcaide ESP
Muhammad Zulfikri INO
Martin Kempter AUT
Robb Saez USA
Philipp Stojanovic CRO
Stephen Capaldi SCO
Hamsa Mohammed Saeed Ali ERI

Group 9 Nation
Francisco Bustamante PHI
Corey Deuel USA
Oliver Ortmann GER
Jeong Young-hwa KOR
Antonio Lining PHI
Pham Tuan Ngoc VIE
John Wims IRE
Zbynek Vaic RSA

Group 10 Nation
Thomas Engert GER
Imran Majid ENG
Kuo Po-cheng TPE
Roman Hybler CZE
Troy Frank USA
David Alcoberro ESP
Louis Condo AUS
Prince Muhtadee Billah BRU

Group 11 Nation
Konstantin Stepanov RUS
Rodney Morris USA
Marco Tschudi SUI
Rye Seung-woo KOR
Bahram Lotfy DEN
Kevin Uzzell ENG
David Reljic AUS
Alejandro Carvajal CHI

Group 12 Nation
Mika Immonen FIN
Lee Van Corteza PHI
Chang Pei-wei TPE
Tyler Edey CAN
Jeremy Jones USA
Karl Boyes ENG
Goran Mladenovic SCG
Fahad Mohammadi QAT

Group 13 Nation
Shane Van Boening USA
Dennis Orcollo PHI
Marcus Chamat SWE
Pat Holtz SCO
Wojciech Trajdos POL
Masaaki Tanaka JPN
Kenny Kwok HKG
Manila Qualifier 8 TBA

Group 14 Nation
Li He-wen CHN
Fabio Petroni ITA
Earl Strickland USA
Marlon Manalo PHI
Dejan Dabovic AUT
Alan Tan MAS
Kay Reike GER
Farhad Shahverdi IRN

Group 15 Nation
Johnny Archer USA
Chao Fong-pang TPE
Naoyuki Oi JPN
Michael Schmidt GER
Manan Chandra IND
Greg Jenkins AUS
Muyat Ayas TUR
Manila Qualifier 4 TBA

Group 16 Nation
Niels Feijen NED
Daryl Peach ENG
Rodolfo Luat PHI
Dharminder Singh Lilly IND
Charles Bryant USA
Toh Lian Han SIN
Matjaz Erculj SLO
Manila Qualifier 7 TBA